top of page

Refreshing


What is your favorite drink on a hot summer day? Smoothie? Lemonade? Milkshake? In the South, it's sweet tea y'all!!! On a humid, sticky day, a cold drink feels very refreshing. Not only does the body need refreshing, but the spirit and soul do as well.


According to Webster's Dictionary, refresh means, "to restore strength and animation to: REVIVE." One thing we all want to experience as believers is a revival. This does not always have to be a widespread revival, we can have our own personal revival. Refreshment can come to us in different ways.


Repentance can bring refreshment to our souls. In Acts 3:19-21 ESV it says, "Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out, that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord, and that he may send the Christ appointed for you, Jesus, whom heaven must receive until the time for restoring all the things about which God spoke by the mouth of his holy prophets long ago." The Bible also says in Proverbs 3:7-8 ESV, "Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil. It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones." It is so refreshing to have a clean heart before God.


When I am going through a hard time, it feels so good to pour out my heart to the Lord. I tell him everything that is going on, I ask him to help me in my situation, and I cry out to Him. After I have talked with my Savior, I feel refreshed. I have unloaded my burden and God has heard my cries.


The Lord does not turn away from a hurting soul. Jeremiah 31:25 ESV states, "For I will satisfy the weary soul, and every languishing soul I will replenish.” God will replenish you with joy, hope, faith, strength, or whatever you have need of. Psalm 23:3 ESV declares, "He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name's sake."


We can be refreshed by God and reading His Word; but we can also be refreshed by one another. Paul said in 1 Corinthians 16:18, "For they refreshed my spirit as well as yours. Give recognition to such men." He also said in Philemon 1:7, "For I have derived much joy and comfort from your love, my brother, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed through you." God used people around Paul to encourage and refresh his spirit.


God can also use us today to encourage and refresh one another. It may just be a smile, a kind word, or sharing a scripture--you never know how much impact a little encouragement can have in someone's life. I have a couple of sisters in Christ that are real encouragers to me. They give me scriptures and remind me of God's promises. They are real jewels.


I have been waiting for years for God to move in a certain situation. Sometimes I get discouraged when I don't see anything happening. That is when God will send a refreshing. It may be through someone giving me a scripture. Often, God will let me hear a song that reminds me of His promises and faithfulness. I love it when God does this--it's like He is speaking to me that everything will be OK.


I want to end this blog post with a challenge. Find someone to encourage this week. You may find that offering encouragement to someone else may actually refresh you too in the process!

53 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


Priscilla Yeboah
Priscilla Yeboah
2022年10月26日

Challenge accepted 😊

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page